KIJHL releases 2024-25 regular season schedule

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League has released its 2024-25 regular season schedule, which begins on Friday, September 20th with 18 of the league’s 21 teams in action.

All KIJHL teams will play a 44-game regular season that includes 34 games each against divisional and conference opponents and one game each against teams from the alternate conference. For inter-conference play, Okanagan-Shuswap Conference clubs will host opponents from one division in the Kootenay Conference while travelling to the other division, and vice versa:

  • Teams in the Doug Birks division host teams from the Neil Murdoch division
  • Teams in the Eddie Mountain division host teams from the  Doug Birks division
  • Teams in the Neil Murdoch division host teams from the Bill Ohlhausen division
  • Teams in the Bill Ohlhausen division host teams from the Eddie Mountain division

The KIJHL will observe a holiday break from December 22-26 with games resuming December 27th and the regular season concluding on Saturday, February 22nd. The KIJHL playoffs begin on Friday, February 28th when 16 teams begin their quest for the Teck Cup.

The 2024-25 regular season schedule includes a total of 462 games. Key dates include the first-ever KIJHL regular season home games for the Quesnel River Rush (Friday, September 20th vs. Merritt), Williams Lake Mustangs (Friday, September 20th vs. Sicamous) and Merritt Centennials (Friday, September 27th vs. Kamloops), as well as the lone rematch of the 2024 Teck Cup Finals between the defending champion Revelstoke Grizzlies and runner-up Fernie Ghostriders on Saturday, December 7th in Revelstoke.

The KIJHL’s 2024-25 exhibition schedule will be released in the coming weeks.