2021 Cyclone Taylor Cup cancelled

British Columbia’s three Junior B hockey leagues have announced the cancellation of the 2021 Cyclone Taylor Cup, which was to be hosted by the Pacific Junior Hockey League’s Delta Ice Hawks from April 8-11 at the Ladner Leisure Centre.

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League, along with the Pacific Junior Hockey League, the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League and BC Hockey, have jointly made the difficult decision to cancel this year’s event due to the ongoing challenges and uncertainty posed by COVID-19.

“We’re disappointed that the 2021 Cyclone Taylor Cup will not be contested, but it was unavoidable given the current pause on our season and the logistical challenges involved in planning a tournament that includes representatives from three different leagues,” said KIJHL Commissioner Jeff Dubois. “This decision does not impact our plans for the restart of the current KIJHL season, other than it provides additional scheduling flexibility as we await a firm date for continuing regular season play.”

The Cyclone Taylor Cup is British Columbia’s annual Junior B provincial championship. It brings together champions of the KIJHL, PJHL and VIJHL, as well as a host club in a four-team, four-day event. This marks the second time in as many years that the Cyclone Taylor Cup will not be contested, following the cancellation of the 2020 tournament in 100 Mile House at the outset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

An announcement regarding the hosting status of the 2022 Cyclone Taylor Cup will be made prior to the conclusion of the 2020-21 hockey season.