2022 KIJHL AGM wraps in Fairmont Hot Springs

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League held its 2022 Annual General Meeting on Saturday, June 18th at the Fairmont Hot Spring Resort, marking the first time since 2019 that League Governors and Staff have been able to hold in-person meetings. 


The puck will drop on the 2022/23 KIJHL regular season on Friday, September 23rd with the league’s 20 teams each playing a 44-game schedule that will see the return of inter-conference play. Okanagan Conference clubs will host opponents from one division in the Kootenay Conference while traveling to the other division, and vice versa:

  • Teams in the Doug Birks division host teams from the Neil Murdoch division
  • Teams in the Eddie Mountain division host teams from the Doug Birks division
  • Teams in the Neil Murdoch division host teams from the Bill Ohlhausen division
  • Teams in the Bill Ohlhausen division host teams from the Eddie Mountain division

The number of games against division rivals has been reduced from eight to six, while teams will continue to play twice against teams from the other division within their conference. As a result, the 44-game schedule breaks down as follows:

  • 24 games against divisional opponents
  • 10 games against conference opponents
  • 10 games against inter-conference opponents

The regular season will conclude on Saturday, February 11th and the 2023 Teck Cup Playoffs will begin on Friday, February 17th. The KIJHL has extended the timeframe to complete its playoffs to 53 days from just 40 in 2022, providing increased rest days and paving the way for Friday start dates for each playoff series in all four rounds.

“I know our players and clubs are excited to see the return of inter-conference play, which also provides our fans with the opportunity to see a greater variety of opposing teams up close,” says KIJHL Commissioner Jeff Dubois. “The decision to change the length of our playoffs was made in the best interests of our athletes, and will result in a better product on the ice as each round goes by.”


The KIJHL’s Board of Governors ratified a number of new initiatives and changes to current regulations, including enhancements to the league’s Individual Conduct Policy and the implementation of a new Drug & Alcohol Policy.

Member clubs will now complete a Weekly Injury Report to assist league and team staff in better documenting and tracking injuries, and the KIJHL will publish a Weekly Roster Report to its website and social media channels that acts as a detailed resource of comings and goings around the KIJHL.

The KIJHL will continue to partner with InStat to access their suite of coaching, scouting and player development tools. The league has also renewed its partnership with Gamesheet Inc. for continued use of their online game sheet platform.

KIJHL Governors also approved proposals geared around player safety and player advancement that will be announced at a future date.


The KIJHL’s Executive Committee, which oversees day-to-day league business on behalf of the Board of Governors, will remain unchanged after Brett Holt (Columbia Valley Rockies, Eddie Mountain Division) and Jeff Wright (Nelson Leafs, Neil Murdoch Division) were each elected to new two-year terms that will carry through 2024. Matt Kolle (Kamloops Storm, Doug Birks Division) and Mark McNaughton (Princeton Posse, Bill Ohlhausen Division) begin the second year of their two-year terms, and Holt will continue in his position as the Chair of the KIJHL.